Bauhaus Dessau Foundation (Ed.)
Texts by Florian Strob
Photos by Thomas Meyer

Walter Gropius, Hannes Meyer, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Richard Paulick, Georg Muche, Carl Fieger, Friedrich Engemann: the architects at the Bauhaus Dessau realised their designs locally in the period from 1925 until 1932, creating a unique ensemble of modernist architecture. The seven Dessau years may be considered the Bauhaus’s most prolific phase. The Bauhaus buildings in Dessau, several of which were named UNESCO World Heritage sites in 1996 as key works of European modernism, reflect the revolutionary aspiration of the historical Bauhaus to radically transform society through design and architecture. Brilliant new photographs and lucid texts provide fresh perspectives on these icons of architecture, their history and their current use.

2019, Hirmer Verlag, München
168 pages, numerous colour illustrations, hardcover
ISBN 978-3-7774-3202-1 (en)

Cover "Bauhaus Dessau: Architektur"